Awards & Recognition

Texas State Distinguished Alumni Award
Texas State University President Denise Trauth presented the 2014 Texas State Distinguished Alumni Award to Dr. Patrick Cox

Selected Awards

  • San Antonio Conservation Society Publication Award - 2017
  • Texas Oral History Association Kenneth E. Hendrickson Award - 2017
  • PEC President's Address and Citation of Service - 2015
  • President's Council on Sustainable Development - Merit Award
  • Distinguished Alumni, Texas State University - 2014
  • American Journalism History Association President's Award 2014
  • Outstanding Alumni - College of Liberal Arts, Texas State University (2010)
  • Fellow - Texas State Historical Association (2009)
  • Philosophical Society of Texas (2005)
  • Who's Who in America (2000)
  • Texas Institute of Letters, Stanley Walker Award for Best Newspaper Journalism (2003)
  • Finalist - Robert F. Kennedy National Book Award; Western Writer's Association Book Award (2002)
  • Honorable Mention - Texas Philosophical Society Book Award (2002)
  • Featured Author - Texas Book Festival, 2002
  • University of Texas Experts: Communications, Politics and Public Affairs (2008-11)
  • C.K. Chamberlain Award, East Texas Historical Association (2000)
  • John H. Jenkins Fellowship in Texas History (2000)
  • Bill R. Brunson Award for Exceptional Graduate Research (1988)


2017 Save Texas History Symposium
Presenters Dr. Patrick Cox and Allison Lane with Texas
General Land Office Deputy Director Mark Lambert at
the Texas and the Great War session of the 2017
Save Texas History Symposium.

Selected Speeches and Programs

  • "Historical Perspectives on Contemporary Journalism," American Journalism Historians Association President’s Panel, 2017 AJHA Annual Meeting, Little Rock.
  • "The Influence of the Mexican Revolution on the U.S. Entering World War I," Texas and the Great War, 2017 Save Texas History Symposium, Austin.
  • "Historical Consulting for Historians," National Council of Public History Workshop, 2017 National Council of Public History Annual Meeting, Indianapolis.
  • "Historians and Archivists - An Effective Collaboration." National Council of Public History Workshop, 2015 National Council of Public History Annual Meeting.
  • "View from the Hill - History, Myth, and Memory in Texas." 2015 Texas State University Center for the Study of the Southwest Conference.
  • "A Tribute to Archie McDonald," 2015 East Texas Historical Association Annual Meeting.
  • President's Address - 2014 Annual Meeting
  • Outstanding Women in Early Texas History - Daughters of the Republic of Texas 2014 meeting
  • Authors Forum - Writing the Story of Texas, East Texas Historical Association (2014)
  • Writing the Story of Texas - Book Launch Program, Texas State Historical Association (2013)
  • Distinguished Historians from Writing the Story of Texas - Bob Bullock Museum of Texas History (2013)
  • Enduring Women of Texas - Featured Speaker, Bob Bullock Museum of Texas History (2013)
  • East Texas Activism and Politics - Program Chair, East Texas Historical Association (2013)
  • Conference Chair - American Journalism Historians Association (2010-1013)
  • "Saving a Home With a Story to Tell," Historic Farm & Ranch Complexes
  • Research Workshop. San Antonio Conservation Society (January 2011)
  • "The Big Picture  Texas in the Great Depression and World War II"
  • Texas: The Big Picture Symposium, Sponsored by Texas State University and the Gonzales History Society (January 2011)
  • "Ethical Leadership for Directors," Texas Electric Cooperative Association, 2010 Annual meeting
  • "John Nance Garner, the First Texas U.S. House Speaker," East/West Texas Historical Association, 2010.
  • "Saving the Joseph Biegel House," Conserving Texas, Preserving History: Understanding Our Texas Landscape, 2010 Winedale Spring Symposium, April 2010.
  • "Saving the John Nance Garner Museum," Friends of Garner Annual Gala, April 2010.
  • "Garner and Rayburn: Texas Speakers of the House," Address to UT Exes, U.S. Capitol, Washington DC, April 2010.
  • "Strangers in Their Own Land - Depictions of People in the Borderlands in
    the 19th and 20th Centuries" Panel chair and paper, American Journalism Historians Association 2010 annual conference.
  • "Trust and Leadership for Cooperative Directors," National Rural Electric Cooperative 2009 Association Annual Director meeting
  • "Sam Rayburn - Model Statesman," Sam Rayburn Symposium, Austin College, 2009
  • "Congressional Papers and Congressional Scholarship" - Presentation to the Association of the Centers for the Study of Congress, Washington, D.C., 2009.
  • "When Barbara Jordan Talked, We Listened," Program and exhibit selections from the Dolph Briscoe Center for American History on Barbara Jordan at the Perry-Castaneda Library at UT Austin.
  • Sam Rayburn, Statesman, Dedication program for the Sam Rayburn Library and Museum 50th Anniversary (October 9, 2007).
  • The Archer Center, Washington DC - Lecturer 2005-2008
  • "Photojournalism and the American Presidency," contributor and advisor, Accessibility Internet Rally for Universities (AIR-U) 2003 awards - Honorable mention
  • Featured Speaker - Lewis and Clark Symposium, LBJ Presidential Library (2003)


Distinguished Alumni Award
College of Liberal Arts
Distinguished Alumni Award
Texas State University

Boards and Professional Organizations

  • Texas State Liberal Arts Council - 2017 Board of Directors
  • Pedernales Electric Cooperative - Board President, 2013-15
  • Texas Dance Hall Preservation - Board of Directors, 2015-17
  • KWVH Community Radio - Board of Directors 2017
  • Amigos de Jesus - Board of Directors 2016-17
  • President of Pedernales Electric Cooperative
  • Co-chair of the 2014 Seton Hays Fundraising Program
  • Texas State University 2014 Outstanding Alumni
  • Board of Directors/Executive Board - Association of Congressional History Centers (2008-2011)
  • Board of Directors/Advisory Board - American Journalism Historians Assoc. (2002-2011)
  • Austin College Center for Southwestern and Mexican Studies - Advisory Board member (2005-2011)
  • Organization of American Historians
  • National Council on Public History
  • Texas State Historical Association
  • East Texas Historical Association
  • Board of Directors - Pedernales Electric Cooperative (2008-current)
  • Chair, Governance, Bylaws and Legal, PEC (2009-11)
  • Treasurer, Board of Directors - Texland Electric Cooperative (2008-2009)
  • Editorial Board - American Journalism - A Journal of Media History (2002-2008)
  • President - Wimberley Valley Watershed Association (2001-2009)
  • President - Barton Springs Edwards Aquifer Conservation District (1988-1996)
  • Contributing Editor - Digital Journalist (2003-2005)
  • Texas Institute of Letters, Carr Collins Book Award Committee (2005)
  • Friends of the Dallas Public Library Contribution to Knowledge Committee (2003)
  • Teaching of History Conference, University of North Texas (2003)
  • Persuasive Communication Interest Group - American Journalism Historians Assoc.
  • Executive Committee - Dolph Briscoe Center for American History (2003-2010)
  • Dissertation Committee member - School of Journalism (2003-2006)
  • TSHA - Chair, Speakers Bureau Committee (2003-2005)
  • TSHA Touchstone Editorial Committee (1999 - 2002)
  • TSHA - Program Committee (2006-07)
  • Texas History Day - Judges Committee (2000 - 2001)
  • ETHA - Chairman, Awards Committee (2002); Program Committee (2000-01); Membership committee, Program Committee (2003-04); Editorial Committee (2005-2007).